History

The archive of the FFBIZ began as a temporary collection of the Lesbian Action Centre founded in 1973/74. It arrived at the new-founded FFBIZ in the year 1978 via Labrys, the first women's book shop in Berlin which was registered as a women's literature archive at the Register of Associations in 1975.

The second wave of the women's movement, the "Women's Liberation Movement", was an international movement right from the start. Women from different continents and workers from various "development aid organisations", which were to form an active work group at the FFBIZ for years, were also involved in the foundation of the FFBIZ. That is why documents of the women's liberation movement from all over the world have been collected, catalogued and made available to the public as well as materials from and about Berlin and the Federal Republic of Germany.

The documents collected in the archive are also special in other respects. A number of active groups of the women's liberation movement, which often cooperated for years and carried out several large campaigns, were not constituted as legal entities, such as associations. They did therefore not document their activities in a structured manner in formal files, but rather with working papers, minutes, flyers, posters, photos, buttons, stickers and other material in addition to records with songs from demonstrations and women's festivals. This applies to the Action Committee for the Liberation of Women (1968/69) as well as to "Bread and Roses" and large parts of the "Anti-§ 218 Movement", the international and national "Wages for/against Housework Campaign", the anti-nuclear movement and women's disarmament and peace movement, women's congresses (since 1975) throughout the Federal Republic of Germany and Europe and feminist networks for the debate on genetic engineering and reproduction technologies (since 1983). Files and long-term magazines only came about with the successive foundation of women's projects and the first women's political parties in the Federal Republic of Germany beginning in the mid-seventies.

This material, which has not been considered worth archiving for a long time, has been catalogued in a conventional manner and made accessible to the public through the FFBIZ archive. It is supplemented by press clipping collections on specific topics as well as documentations and books. For several years now we have also been collecting estates and autographs of protagonists of the women's liberation movement. We recently stepped up the documentation of current campaigns, such as the campaigns to prevent violence against women ("One Billion Rising") and against sexism (e.g. #Aufschrei or the Slutwalks) and the corresponding debates in blogs, online portals and other online platforms, including queer-feminist perspectives and discussions. In this way, the archival collections have been growing continuously since the foundation of the FFBIZ. Appropriate long-term storage of all materials in acid-free folders and boxes in a cooled, oxygen-reduced store has been established in 2003.

Geschichte

Das Archiv des FFBIZ begann als vorläufige Sammlung des 1973/74 gegründeten Lesbischen Aktionszentrums. Über den ersten Berliner Frauenbuchladen Labrys, der 1975 als Frauenarchiv im Vereinsregister eingetragen wurde, kam es im Jahr 1978 in das neugegründete FFBIZ.

Die zweite oder sogenannte "Neue Frauenbewegung" verstand sich von Anfang an als eine internationale Bewegung. Auch an der FFBIZ-Gründung beteiligten sich Frauen verschiedener Kontinente und etliche Mitarbeiterinnen aus unterschiedlichen damals sogenannten "Entwicklungshilfe-Einrichtungen", die jahrelang eine aktive Arbeitsgruppe im FFBIZ stellten. Daher wurden außer Materialien aus und über Berlin und die Bundesrepublik auch Frauenbewegungsdokumente aus nahezu allen Teilen der Welt gesammelt, erschlossen und zur öffentlichen Nutzung bereitgestellt.

Die im Archiv gesammelten Dokumente sind auch in anderer Hinsicht besonders. Viele der in der neuen Frauenbewegung aktiven Gruppen, die oft jahrelang zusammen arbeiteten und häufig große Kampagnen trugen, konstituierten sich nicht als juristische Personen, in Vereinsform etwa. Sie dokumentierten daher auch ihre Aktivitäten nicht strukturiert in förmlichen Akten sondern vielmehr durch Arbeitspapiere, Protokolle, Flugblätter, Plakate, Fotos, Buttons und Sticker und vielen anderen Grauen Materialien. Hinzu kamen auch Schallplatten mit Songs von Demonstrationen und Frauenfesten. Das gilt für den Aktionsrat zur Befreiung der Frauen (1968/69) ebenso wie für "Brot und Rosen" und weite Teile der "Anti-§-218-STGB-Bewegung", der internationalen und bundesweiten "Lohn für/gegen Hausarbeitskampagne", der Anti-Atomkraft- und der Frauen-Abrüstungs- bzw. Friedensbewegung, der bundes- und europaweiten Frauenkongresse (seit 1975) und der Feministischen Netzwerke zur Auseinandersetzung mit Gen- und Reproduktionstechnologien (seit 1983). Erst mit der vermehrten Gründung von Frauenprojekten und der ersten Frauenparteien in der Bundesrepublik seit Mitte der 1970er Jahre entstanden auch Akten und längerfristige Zeitschriften.

All diese Materialien, die lange als nicht archivwürdig galten, wurden und werden im FFBIZ-Archiv kontinuierlich zur öffentlichen Nutzung konventionell erschlossen und durch thematische Zeitungsausschnittsammlungen, sowie durch Dokumentationen und Bücher ergänzt. Seit einigen Jahren sammeln wir auch Nachlässe und Autographen von Akteurinnen der Frauenbewegung. Wir dokumentieren seit Kurzem verstärkt aktuelle Aktionen, wie z.B. Kampagnen gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen ("One-billion-rising") und gegen Sexismus ("Aufschrei" oder "Slutwalks") und die darum kreisenden Debatten in Blogs, Portalen und anderen Online-Medien. Dazu gehören auch queer-feministische Perspektiven und Diskussionen. Die Bestände des Archivs sind so seit der Gründung des FFBIZ kontinuierlich gewachsen. Seit 2003 sind alle Materialien in einem gekühlten und sauerstoffreduzierten Magazin in säurefreien Mappen und Kartons sachgerecht zur Langzeitaufbewahrung aufgestellt.